One year moving in anniversary – HDB

Its been one year since moving into my small piece of 111sqm in the sky, so I decided to post an update on the my earlier post about my house reno. Basically, nothing much has changed, except getting more cluttered. The sofa has been filled with more pillows (thanks to wife’s colleagues that brought some back from the UK) and soft toys. Then wife decided to get a ‘nest’ from my brother whom is giving it away, because there is no place to put in his new house (not as if there’s a lot of space in our house). Seeing there is no better place to put it, the nest now sits quietly at a corner of the house, on a Taobao carpet, occupied by Monkey and Egg. My childhood piano has also been moved to our living room.

Living room now...
Living room now…
Monkey and Egg in the Nest
Monkey and Egg in the Nest

The dining hall, is actually just next to the living room. Nothing fancy here. Next to the door, is our utility cabinet. Inside, is a mess of cables, plugs and electronic devices. Starting from the top left box, I have the Fibre Termination Point (FTP, the thing with a green wire coming out). If you follow the thin yellow wire down, you can see it goes into the black box hanging on the wall via 3M hooks. That is the Optical Network Terminal. From here, a thicker yellow Lan cable then runs to another black box sitting on top of the circuit box. This is the wireless router. Stupid right? This wireless router is not in the most conducive spot of the house! In fact, I get no wireless signal in my master bedroom (although wife thinks its perfect, because less ‘radiation’) There are a few ways around this problem, one of which I will touch on in awhile. Now, next to the router, is my wireless telephone charging bay, it has to be connected to the router, because mine is a digital line. You will also notice many blue cables running out of the router, back into the top left box. So what happened is this. New HDBs in Singapore are equipped with CAT6 network cables. However, they are terminated in a telephone jack, instead of a data point (RJ45). I think this is slated to be changed. Nonetheless, there is a telephone jack in EVERY room. What needs to be done is then get someone to convert the telephone jack to a RJ45. My telco does it, but at an exorbitant price of $50 per jack. I got a freelance guy to do it for about $60. He is very meticulous and helpful, explaining all these technical stuff to me. Other stuff in the utility cabinet is a multiplug rack hanging by 3M hooks as well to split that one power plug to power everything up.

So back to solving the wifi problem. With all my rooms ‘LAN-up’, I placed another router in my study. In this way, I can have wireless coverage around the whole house. The router in my study also serve to split the one LAN point up into 2 for my 2 computers. It is also connected to a media hub and printer. Things become a little complicated when I want to assess my media hub from my TV. My TV, is connected via LAN cable for Netflix and stuff. I also have an android box, which is connected via 5G. Both of these are actually connected to my utility cabinet router. But, my media hub is connected to my room router, which is then connected to the utility router (yes it gets confusing…). So the way to do this, is to set the room router to bridge.

Entrance and dining table.
Entrance and dining table.
Mess of cables hidden in the utility box. Fibre Termination Point.
Mess of cables hidden in the utility box. Fibre Termination Point.

Next up, my study room, which has been invaded by my wife. This room is a complicated story. Initially, it was suppose to be wife’s room, hence the pink wall and fancy hanging light. Then, she decided she wants a POLE! Yes, she does pole dance. How do you fit a Pole into a room, with hanging lights?? Everywhere, we shift the pole, she end up smashing her legs/hands/face into either the wall or the lights. So, the conclusion is the POLE cannot be in this room, hence I swapped my room with her. So now my study room has this PINK wall and multi-colored lights… Then she decided that a work table in her ‘POLE-room’ is not appropriate as she will kick it, and that is why her work table is in my room too. All in all, my room has a sofa, 2 work tables, 1 side table and a cabinet where I put my boardgames and books.

My work tables, and Harman Kardon Soundsticks iii.
My work tables, and Harman Kardon Soundsticks iii.
Cabinet with boardgames and books.
Cabinet with boardgames and books.
Wife's work table and sofa to rest/sleep/ listen to music.
Wife’s work table and sofa to rest/sleep/ listen to music.
2 Totoros :D
2 Totoros 😀
Wife's 'POLE room'.
Wife’s ‘POLE room’.

Nothing much has changed in the kitchen. We cook quite often, and its amazing it still looks quite clean. The air-fryer is the best item anyone can get for their kitchen. 😀 In my tall cabinet, instead of a microwave compartment, I converted it into a coffee station, where I have can have my Nespresso fix.

Kitchen
Kitchen
Coffee station
Coffee station
My House Renovation – HDB

August 2016

One thought on “One year moving in anniversary – HDB

Leave a Reply

