Newport, RI, USA

After a wonderful conference in Woods Hole, I decided to take a short trip to Newport, Rhode Island. It would have been an agonizing 4.5hrs bus journey with 2 transits, if I had started my journey from Woods Hole, MA. Luckily, a friend drove, and he dropped me off in Boston, which made the whole trip more palatable.

So after a 2hr journey from Boston, I arrived in Newport, at the Visitor Center, albeit at 6:30pm. I booked a two nights stay at an airbnb nearby, and the host has been so gracious as to come and get me from the Visitor Center. A night cost SGD$159 compared to >USD$200 in hotels in this place. No wonder its a place for the rich to hang out with their mansions and yachts. I shall not name the airbnb, as the host value discreteness, suffice to say, she has been very hospitable.

My first stop is to the famed Bowen’s Wharf area. The eateries aren’t that spectacular, though the price is. The most enticing thing about this place, is tall masts of the yachts and boats. Having spent time around in Sentosa, Singapore’s version of waterfront living, I must say these yachts and boats here, are the real deal. Those in Sentosa, are just some fancy ‘modern’ yachts, all motor propelled. These, on the other had, are decked out with huge sails, masts and lines. Think pirates of the Caribbean.

Long Wharf, on the way to Bowen’s Wharf
Bowen's Wharf
Bowen’s Wharf
Beginning of Bowens Wharf
Beginning of Bowen’s Wharf
See the sky high masts and lines!!!
See the sky high masts and lines!!!
More yachts and a speedboat
More yachts and a speedboat
Apparently, this is the place to be at for seafood in Bowen's Wharf. But Jimmy is broke...
Apparently, this is the place to be at for seafood in Bowen’s Wharf. But Jimmy is broke…
Boats are so cool
Boats are so cool
Well, according to me, this is the place to be at for coffee. Grab a coffee, and sit along the wharf for a good hour or two, just staring at boats and boats....
Well, according to me, this is the place to be at for coffee. Grab a coffee, and sit along the wharf for a good hour or two, just staring at boats and boats….
I definitely have to share this photo. I love the masts and lines. *I can hear Drink Up Me hearties Yo Ho playing in my head* Hans Zimmer ftw.
I definitely have to share this photo. I love the masts and lines. *I can hear Drink Up Me hearties Yo Ho playing in my head* Hans Zimmer ftw.
Another one. Bababumbum, bababumbum, bababumbum....
Another one. Bababumbum, bababumbum, bababumbum….
I ended up at Bannister Wharf
I ended up at Bannister Wharf
In the end for dinner, poor Jimmy walked to a noodle bar serving ramen - Boru noodle bar. Quite yummy and filling.
In the end, for dinner, poor Jimmy walked to a noodle bar serving ramen – Boru noodle bar. Quite yummy and filling.

Sorry for lousy photo quality, as its taken at night on my cheap phone.

Newport Mansions

September 2016

One thought on “Newport, RI, USA

Leave a Reply

